I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute To The Velvet Underground

The Velvet Underground was an American rock band formed in New York City in 1964. The original line-up consisted of singer/guitarist Lou Reed, multi-instrumentalist John Cale, guitarist Sterling Morrison, and drummer Angus MacLise.

The Velvet Underground & Nico was released in March 1967 through Verve Records. It was recorded in 1966 while the band was featured on Andy Warhol’s Exploding Plastic Inevitable tour.

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground and Nico will be released Sept. 24. As the title would indicate, it’s a track-by-track remake of the group’s 1967 debut album.

The September release will include tracks recorded by:

  • Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe
  • I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger
  • Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten & Angel Olsen
  • Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius
  • Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & The Violators
  • All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
  • Heroin – Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie
  • There She Goes Again – King Princess
  • I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett
  • The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C.
  • European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney

This tribute album was conceived and executive produced by Hal Willner, who died in April 2020.

“Run Run Run” by Kurt Vile & the Violators, was released today.

Velvet Underground Tribute Album, Producer Hal Willner’s Last Project, Due in Fall

%d bloggers like this: